On July 19, 1739, Thomas Wilkins, an Elder of the nearby historical Donegal Presbyterian Church, warranted 263 acres in East Donegal Township. Upon this land he built a log cabin which became a Trading Post for the Conoy Indians who lived along the shores of the Susquehanna River in Bainbridge. Life among the Indians was uncertain, causing Thomas to 'Indian proof' his cabin. Remnants of these precautions can still be seen in the existing basement. Still visible is an 'Indian door', 'rifle slot' windows and the 'Indian floor'. The floor, consisting of layers of wooden beams and earth would offer protection to the occupants in the cellar if the cabin was torched. Thomas was also known to have run the 'Logan's Ferry' in Bainbridge at a time when crossing the Susquehanna River was a risky adventure with the untamed 'Wild West' on the opposite shore. Recently we had the unexpected pleasure of hosting several of the Wilkins family descendants who currently reside in the Pittsburgh area. It was a joy having them stay with us Country Farmhouse Bed and BreakfastIn 1834, Abraham & Susana Herschy built the existing stone house. Part of this home sits upon the foundation of the log cabin. According to the Lancaster County tax records, the Herschy couple and their 12 children resided here Through the late 1800's and early 1900's the home was owned by several different families including the Brubaker's, the Nissley's and the historical figure Simon Cameron and his family. Simon was a u.s. Senator and the Secretary of War in Abraham Lincoln's cabinet during the Civil War. You can see him with President Lincoln in an early lithograph which hangs in our guest cottage.
For specific room rate, please check rates when making reservation.